American Literature Section American Literature Section

American Literature Section

Modern Language Association

The American Literature Section is the largest component part of the Modern Language Association of America. It sponsors the journal American Literature, the annual volume American Literary Scholarship, and sessions at the annual MLA Convention. It annually awards the Jay B. Hubbell Medal for Lifetime Achievement in American Literary Studies, which has been bestowed on many of the most distinguished scholars in the field. It also presents the Foerster Prize for the best essay published in American Literature each year. The Section coordinates the work of the seven divisions of the MLA that specialize in American Literature.

More Information on the ALS

Join the ALS-MLA


Annual Reports

The Hubbell Medal

American Literature at the MLA Convention

Lists from the Hubbell Center at Duke University
(including winners of the Hubbell Medal and the Foerster prize, as well as past officers of the ALS)


Typewriter photo by Jennifer Perkinson