The American Literature Society is an independent professional organization of scholars devoted to the preservation, study and recognition of American literature and culture. The society hosts sessions at the annual MLA Convention and maintains a listserv to encourage networking and exchange among students, teachers, and researchers of American literature. It annually awards the Jay B. Hubbell Medal for Lifetime Achievement in American Literary Studies, which has been bestowed on many of the most distinguished scholars in the field.