2019 Winners of the 1921 Prize in American Literature

On behalf of the 1921 Prize Committee (Helane Androne [chair], Tara Bynum, Cristina Herrera, Christopher Pexa, Jane Thrailkill), we are pleased to announce the winners of the 1921 Prizes in American Literature. Congratulations!

Graduate Students, Scholars in Contingent Positions, and Untenured Category:

  • Gordon Fraser, “Distributed Agency: David Walker’s Appeal, Black Readership, and the Politics of Self-Deportation.” ESQ vol. 65, no. 2, 2019, pp. 221-256.
  • Fraser is Presidential Academic Fellow and Lecturer in English, American Studies, and Creative Writing at the University of Manchester

Tenured Category:

  • Gregory Laski, “Reconstructing Revenge: Race and Justice after the Civil War.” American Literature vol. 91, no. 4, 2019.
  • Laski is Associate Professor of English at the United States Airforce Academy