Hubbell Medal for Lifetime Achievement

The Hubbell Medal, which has been awarded since 1964, is named for the founding editor of American Literature. Jay B. Hubbell, a long-time professor at Duke University, was one of the pioneers of American literary scholarship. Hubbell championed treating American authors as objects of serious attention at a time when academic students of literature focused almost entirely on English authors. The award named for him has been awarded to some of the most distinguished practitioners of the discipline he helped create. The citations by which the awards were made and the acceptance speeches with which they were received, the more recent of which are available on the site, form an illuminating and often touching record of one part of the scholarly life.

Norman Foerster Prize

The 1921 Prize in American Literature

The American Literature Society is pleased to announce a new prize awarded to the best article in any field of American literature. The prize is named for the year the organization was initially founded “to promote and diversify the study of American Literature.” Judged by a panel made up of members of the American Literature Society Advisory Board and other scholars in the field, the competition will be divided in two categories: one for graduate students, scholars in contingent positions, and untenured faculty members; one for tenured faculty.